The Opera

Ciao! Last night almost everyone in my program went to see The Magic Flute performance, which was one of the most fun experiences I have had while being here. If you are studying abroad in Italy or just traveling, definitely check out the Opera because you won’t regret it.

The performance of The Magic Flute was a more modernized version, which some people will love or hate. I absolutely loved it because it was very weird and eclectic; however, although that can be confusing at times it was still very entertaining and the orchestra was amazing. The Opera singing was also just fantastic and out of this world.

During intermission my friends and I scurried over to the bar area and grabbed some cappuccinos and a few paninos. We sat and chatted away about what we enjoyed about the performance and what we didn’t. It was also nice because I ran into my Humanities professor and we discussed the show and the artwork in it as well.

The Magic Flute was in German, so they had both English and Italian subtitles on a screen. I really enjoyed that it was in German because prior to the show I did not really appreciate the language because hearing it around Europe it sounds so harsh. The show; however, definitely changed my perspective because the performers made the language flow and sound absolutely beautiful.

IMG_3877

My friend Gabrielle and I at the Opera, after the performance.  

Overall, if you are ever in Italy and if you have time, GO SEE AN OPERA PERFORMANCE !!! You won’t regret it.

Leave a comment